Lecture Series

Howard University School of Law hosts a series of lectures each year which honor the name and legacy of a past deans Charles Hamilton Houston, James M. Nabrit Jr., C. Clyde Ferguson Jr., and Wiley A. Branton. Each of these deans served the law school during a critical era in history and all left a significant impression not only on the Howard University community but on the legal profession worldwide. The students, faculty, administration, and staff of the law school work together each year to find topics relevant to the current legal climate, particularly in areas of social justice, civil rights, human rights, and voting rights.

The Four Named Lectures  

Charles Hamilton Houston
Dean from 1929 to 1935

James M. Nabrit Jr.
Dean from 1958 to 1960

C. Clyde Ferguson Jr.
Dean from 1963 to 1969

Wiley A. Branton
Dean from 1978 to 1983