Myles V. Lynk

Adjunct Instructor

Myles V. Lynk, a member of the bar in the District of Columbia, Massachusetts and New York, is a past president of the District of Columbia Bar, chaired the D.C. Bar’s Client Security Trust Fund and was a member of the D.C. Bar’s Legal Ethics Committee.  He was a partner in the Washington, DC, office of a national law firm before serving as the Peter Kiewit Foundation Professor of Law and the Legal Profession at the Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law, Arizona State University from 2000 to 2019, where he taught legal ethics, civil procedure, business organizations and law and literature.

While in Arizona, Professor Lynk co-chaired the State Bar of Arizona’s Task Force on Multijurisdictional Practice. He currently serves as a Senior Assistant Disciplinary Counsel for appellate litigation in the District of Columbia Office of Disciplinary Counsel. In the field of legal ethics Professor Lynk has been deeply involved in the development of the Model Rules of Professional Conduct. He has chaired the American Bar Association’s Standing Committee on Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility, Standing Committee on Professional Regulation, Special Committee on Bioethics and the Law, and the Minority Caucus of the ABA’s House of Delegates.

Professor Lynk has lectured on legal ethics to the Judicial Conference of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, the United States Naval Justice School, the National Organization of Bar Counsel, the International Conference of Legal Regulators, the Navajo Nation Bar Association and the National Association of Attorneys General, whose 2018 Ethics Summit he hosted at Arizona State University.  In 2015 Professor Lynk helped draft and was a signatory to the ABA and NAACP Legal Defense Fund Joint Statement on Eliminating Bias in the Criminal Justice System.

Professor Lynk served on the board of directors of the Council on Legal Education Opportunity (“CLEO”) and is a recipient of the ABA’s Spirit of Excellence Award and Robert F. Drinan Award, the National Bar Association’s Presidential Service Award and the Arizona Black Bar’s Excellence in Diversity Award.