Howard University School of Law Graduates 137 Students in Class of 2019

Howard University School of Law held its Hooding Ceremony on Saturday, May 11, at the John H. Burr Gymnasium on Howard University’s main campus.

The law school graduated a total of 137 graduates—three of whom earned Master of Laws degrees and two of whom earned Juris Doctor/Master of Business Administration degrees. One graduate, Emerson K. Lovell graduated with summa cum laude honors distinction – graduating No. 1 in the class and joining only a few other Howard Law graduates to have achieved this honor in the last 60 years. Five graduates earned magna cum laude honors distinction, while 19 graduates earned cum laude honors distinction.

The Hon. Aisha N. Braveboy, state’s attorney for Prince George’s County, was the keynote speaker. Awarded annually, the Warren Rosmarin Award is given to a member of the Howard faculty or staff who has given extraordinary service to the institution. This year, the award was split between two Howard Law staff members: Shalonda Colbert, special assistant to the dean; and La Shawn D. Reeder, administrative assistant to the dean.

“It was a humbling experience,” Reeder said. “It felt good to be acknowledged by not just my peers, but the law school community, for my hard work and dedication. I give 110 percent every time I walk into the building.  I enjoy my job, the students, staff and faculty.”

The Pauli Murray Leadership Award made its debut this year, having never been presented in Howard Law history. The award recognizes a faculty member who has made an extraordinary contribution to the law school through his or her service, scholarship, and leadership. The winner of this award embodies the spirit of the legendary Pauli Murray, who was a 1944 graduate of Howard Law and whose work on racial equality and gender equality formed the foundation for both seminal racial justice litigation like the desegregation cases, and critical gender discrimination cases.

Murray embodies inexhaustible love of learning and teaching and a deep commitment to seeing injustice in all of its forms to come to an end. The winner of the award, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Professor of Law Lisa Crooms-Robinson, embodies that spirit of freedom fighting, intellectual rigor and determination.

Howard Law Dean Danielle Holley-Walker presented the Dean’s Leadership Award, which honors one leader in the Class of 2019, to Student Bar Association President and Class of 2019 graduate QuenDesmond Kellum.

Prof. Patricia Worthy and Prof. Werner Lawson Jr. were recognized for their service with honor and commitment to the Howard Law students and community, as members of the Class of 1969.

All in attendance took a brief moment of silence to remember a few of the notable Howard Law alumni who died this year, including Sen. Harris Wofford and Judge Damon Keith.

Howard Law congratulates all of its Class of 2019 graduates and wishes them well as they enter the legal profession.