Goler Teal Butcher International Moot Court Team

The Howard University School of Law’s International Moot Court Team competes in some of the world’s largest and most prestigious competitions around the world. Over the past few years, its members have been recognized with various awards in several high profile competitions. Awards from recent years have included: 

  • Best Team and Best Brief Awards at the Susan J. Ferrell Moot Court Competition 
  • Best Oralist awards at the Philip C. Jessup International Moot Court Competition 
  • Best Oralist Award at the D.M. Harish Memorial International Moot Court Competition

For more information about the team please send inquiries to WHusain2@law.howard.edu.

Depending on the size of the team, other competitions will be selected to cover subjects related to international business and arbitration. The team sends its members to the following competitions annually: 

The D.M. Harish International Moot Court Competition Hosted by Government Law College of Mumbai: A simulation of a fictional dispute between nations with respect to human rights law and policy before the International Court of Justice. The competition is held in Mumbai, India. 

The Philip C. Jessup Moot Court Competition is the largest moot court competition, with participants from over 500 law schools around the world. The competition is a simulation of a fictional dispute between nations before the International Court of Justice. The first round of the competition is held in Washington, D.C., and if the team proceeds to the next round, they will travel to compete at the international rounds. 

The Stetson International Environmental Moot Court Competition is the world’s largest moot court competition devoted exclusively to global environmental issues. Founded at Stetson in 1996, the competition now includes regional rounds in Australia, Colombia, India, Ireland, Korea, the Philippines, Ukraine, and the United States, with the top teams advancing to the International Finals hosted at Stetson Law each spring. The next International Finals will be held at Stetson Law on April 13-16, 2016.


2018-2019 IMCT team
team and the members are listed from left to right:
Esosa Aimufua- Captain 2018-19
Olivia Mugenga-Captain 2019-20
Kazi Nawrin Jahan-President 2018-19
Daniel Obed
John-Paul Proctor
Dr. Waris Husain-Coach
Royston Peters-President 2019-20
Blake Hylton
Elizabeth Lajayi
Korey Johnson"